Coffee: My Journey from Seed to Cup

To me, coffee is more than a drink. It’s a ritual, a pleasure, a social interaction, a big passion and of course a business. After years of working in the hospitality sector, I experienced working in different types of bars and restaurants in different countries. In this field, I found exciting, challenging and varied career opportunities and talented people with a genuine passion for coffee. Everywhere I went, I noticed that coffee’ has always been the biggest common denominator we have with billions of people around the world waking up to its awesome aroma every day.

In 2010, I decided to engage in a coffee business.  I opened Gelateria Milano, a coffee and ice cream shop located at the level 5 of BQ Mall, Tagbilaran City. The business was well accepted by the local community and now, at its fourth year of operation, I can say that I have attained my goal reaching stability. To improve profit margins and make the firm more competitive, I decided to take direct control of how my coffee is supplied, growing my own coffee beans.

10313064_754053884625630_3311150722787170447_n.jpg

Also, after joining the Cacao and Coffee Growers Association in Carmen that provided technical support with Nestlé Philippines, I started last year an 800 plants Robusta Coffee plantation in San Roque, Mabini. I could see right away a big potential in this project and what started like a backward integration for my little store, may one day become a successful business venture.

You will hear me a lot talking about coffee in this blog then. Follow me in this journey from seed to cup,

“Only one thing is certain about coffee: wherever it is grown, sold, brewed, and consumed, there will be lively controversy, strong opinions, and good conversation around it“.

Leave a Reply

